Xander Mom: Philisiwe Mthemba

Meet our latest Xander mom, Philisiwe Mthemba. She talked to us about how she balances work and home life and what raising children in South Africa means to her.

 

Tell us about yourself?
I am a 30-something mother of two beautiful girls. The eldest, Manzini is 12 and Nandi is 3 years old. I am a full-time employee and currently busy with my PhD in Health Sciences.

Tell us about your blog?
I am not a blogger but I really wish I was one!! I have had offers to ‘train’ me but I am just too busy. Maybe in 3 years’ time, who knows??

 

 

How do you feel about using technology as part of learning?
I think kids are naturally drawn to technology. I find that it has become a new and exciting way of learning new concepts. For this reason, I allow my kids to use my phone and laptop but I always limit the time spent playing games.

What are your kid’s favourite apps?
My 3 year old loves Magic Kinder – she has learnt to draw and paint

What do you love about South Africa and raising your children here?
I love the fact that SA is diverse and rich in cultural heritage. I mean, it’s the only country I know with 11 official languages!!

TV “Yes” or “No”?
A big NO!! My 12 year old isn’t allowed to watch TV during the school week. She only watches on weekends. It is a bit difficult to control and restrict TV times for the little one, so I let her watch cartoons for at least 3 hours per day.

What is in the lunchbox?
My oldest makes her own lunches for school. I try and encourage her to choose and prepare healthy food.
Her normal lunch is – 2 slices of cheese or peanut butter sandwich plus a fruit. I normally do not buy juice for her because of high sugar content. She’s a lot overweight for her age, so I try and limit junk food in the house.

How do you balance it all – in one sentence?
Planning is key!!

Do you children do chores at home, if so what and how do you manage it?
Yes, they both have chores. The 12 year old washes dishes on weekends, clean the kitchen and her make up her bed and washes her shirt and socks every day. She also cooks on Wednesdays (Easy-To-Cook Meals like chicken pasta or grilled protein and veggies) My 3 year old doesn’t have any set chores but she ‘helps’ make up her bad and puts away her toys once finished playing.

What is your favourite holiday plans/ activities with kids?
My kids and I love water slides!! We always go for a day’s outing to the Wild Coast Sun.

 

Catch up with Philisiwe on her social media platforms Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.